Quotes from Katie

I can miss the will of God. The rich young ruler certainly did. He didn’t fall dead, and maybe he went on to live a great life, but it wasn’t the life he could have lived had he said yes to what Jesus was asking of him.”

I think Kisses from Katie inspired me so much because sometimes I long for the will of God in my life, and it’s hard for me to be patient and wait for God’s timing. Katie shows me that no matter what my future holds, as long as it’s in the will of God, it will be more than I could’ve ever dreamed.

“I believe that God totally, absolutely, intentionally gives us more than we can handle. Because this is when we surrender to Him and He takes over, proving Himself by doing the impossible in our lives.”

I’ve never really thought about it like this before. You know, I’ve heard people say, well God doesn’t give you more than you can handle. But it makes sense that He would. It makes sense because sometimes it’s not until we can’t handle any more that we realize we need God’s help and God’s direction. After reading this, I absolutely think that God gives us more than we can handle so that we realize we cannot possibly do it without Him.

“People tell me they miss me; they think I am so far away. But I’m not. I’m right here, on the same earth as everybody else, doing what I know to do to make it a little bit better… Jesus called His followers to be a lot of things, but I have yet to find where He warned us to be safe.”

In her book, you feel like you’re right there with her. God didn’t call us to be safe. His calling for us might be something we consider ‘safe,’ but it might not. She reminds me that I need to be in tune with God so that I know His calling for my life. I think Katie doesn’t seem scared of going to live on the other side of the world because she knew without a doubt in her mind that that was God’s plan for her life. She could’ve ignored it and still had a great life, but she wouldn’t be living the life God called her to, and may not have ever been satisfied with the life she chose.

If you want to read some more of Katie’s thoughts, you can visit her blog at http://kissesfromkatie.blogspot.com/.

One thought on “Quotes from Katie

  1. Love this entry, Molly. How else would we be able to see all that God has for us if He didn’t give us more than we think we could handle? When we call on Him he reveals himself to us in our difficult circumstances in ways that are very personal to us. This is a big part of how our relationship with him is built, through the tough stuff. What reason would we have to call on him in our comfort?

Leave a Reply

