Philly Marathon Finishers!

This past Sunday my dad and I ran the Philadelphia Marathon!! We ended up running in 5:30, which was about 40 minutes faster than our 26 mile training run 3 weeks earlier.

At the beginning of the race, the half marathon runners and marathon runners all start together at the starting line. The first 9 miles or so were through the city of Philadelphia. We saw lots of old buildings and we went through different parts of the city; it was very cool. After that, we had a few miles of nice scenic road until the half marathoners finished at the 13.1 mark. At this point about 2/3 of the people in the race were done; there were 11,000 people running the full marathon out of the 33,000 that started the race. Of course, we were just getting started; we had 13.1 still to go. Later, Michael and my mom told us that the winners of the marathon came in around 2:20; we weren’t even at the half way point by then. For miles 10-26, we ran along a river, and the leaves turned different colors (which is so pretty for Floridians to see); it was really beautiful.

Overall, it was definitely a tough race; 26.2 miles is a REALLY long way. Michael will tell you that as soon as we crossed the finish line, I said to him, “Never again.” But, if you’re a runner, you know how that goes. Obviously I want to do it again. Maybe it’ll be easier a 2nd time, maybe not. Either way, the accomplishment of running a marathon is something I didn’t think I would ever know, but now I do, and I’m so glad I did this.

Sign me up for the next one!

Image

One thought on “Philly Marathon Finishers!

  1. I am soooooo proud of you and Dad, Molly!!! That is something I may NEVER accomplish. Way to go!!! Way to persevere through the pain and discomfort to reach your goal. You inspire me and you’re my daughter. How cool is that!!!

Leave a Reply

